DLS Modules - ViALUX GmbH

Piktogramme ViALUX
Go to content
Projector & camera mereged
Product description Technical data
Integrated Machine Vision Modules
DLS Direct Link Sensor Modules
The DLS Module addresses machine vision use cases that demand for coupling high-performance DLP projection with corresponding image acquisition. The DLS concept overcomes the former need of multiple separate devices for pattern projector and camera. DLS integrates both, DLP chip and image sensor, in one single electronics. That approach results in straight forward system setup maintaining maximum performance. The user defines a projection sequence and receives the corresponding image sequence on return.
Two configurations are available.
DLP Design House Logo
DLS-1
DLS-2
DLS-1 Module
DLS-2 Module
1 x pattern projector
1 x image sensor
1 x pattern projector
2 x image sensor
System Architecture
Direct Link Sensor Architecture
The schematic of the DLS architecture with the major data flow is shown in the picture. The ViALUX FPGA logic controls both the highperformance DLP chip for fast and precise pattern projection and the image sensors for digital imaging. In that way pattern generation and image recording are precisely synchronized, also for partial sensor readout in a region of interest. Frame rates vary from 166 fps to 5.000 fps (ROI) for each camera in parallel.
A sequence of user-defined projection patterns is uploaded into the DLS memory (RAM) and the data can be used for a single projection or for a projection loop. The illuminated object is recorded by the sensors and the images are buffered in the on-board RAM that holds up to 1.592 pictures (10 bit, 1.920 x 1.200 pixels), ready for download to the PC for further processing.  All data flow operations are executed by one FPGA device enabling the outstanding real-time precision.
Streaming data to and from the onboard RAM is realized by the USB 3.2 SuperSpeed transfer implemented on the DLS system. The upload is further enhanced by lossless ontheflight compression and pixel binning is available as an option for image download.
System Control
An easytointegrate application programming interface (API) supports rapid system development. The DLS API functions are designed to build an application with a minimum of programming effort providing maximum control capabilities at the same time. The user can define any type of pattern sequence that may differ in bit depth, number of pictures, and frame rate. The DLSAPI is implemented as a dynamic-link library (DLL), it is portable and can be used in various programming environments.
Advantages
The DLS principle of operation offers significant advantages for machine vision applications requiring flexible scene illumination:
• Projection and imaging components are precisely synchronized
• High bandwidth transfers are running independent from PC
• Hardware integration guarantees real-time data flow
• The DLS-Module requires only one USB3.2 interface
• The clear API software facilitates rapid application development
Models
The DLS1 and DLS2 Modules address different field of view and working distance (WD), respectively. The diagonal field of view (DFOV) is given by DFOV = 0.69 x WD.
The DLS1 Module is equipped with one DLP projection and one image sensor that can be slightly tilted to adjust the working distance in the range 1.300 - 3.000 mm. The distance between projection lens and imaging lens is 410 mm.
The DLS2 Module supports two image sensors and one DLP chip. All three chips are in a fixed position. The customer can choose a configuration for either 600 mm or for 1000 mm working distance. The base length between the two imaging lenses is 160 mm.
Long lasting highpower LEDs form the light source for the two DLSModules. There are four wavelength options provided for both models to support a variety of applications in the visible and nearinfrared spectrum: White, Blue 460 nm, NIR 730 nm, NIR 850 nm.
Extended software option
An additional software package zSnapper® SDK (zSn.dll) is available as an optional extension for DLS Modules enabling high-speed and highprecision 3D coordinate acquisition. This powerful 3D measurement software has been developed for the ViALUX 3D scanners and is now released on module level. It delivers (x, y, z) coordinates directly and automatically for use in 3D machine vision.
Contact >> DLP at ViALUX
Back to content

DLS Module - ViALUX GmbH

Making light work for you
Direkt zum Seiteninhalt
ProjeKtor & Kamera werden Eins
Produktbeschreibung Technische Daten
Integrierte Module für die digitale Bildverarbeitung
Direct Link Sensor DLS-Module
DLS Module sind für digitale Bildverarbeitungsanwendungen konzipiert, die eine leistungsfähige DLP MusterProjektion in Verbindung mit synchronisierter Bildaufnahme erfordern. Nach einem neuen Konzept werden DLP Lichtmodulator und Bildsensor mit der gleichen Elektronik gesteuert. Damit entfällt die Notwendigkeit, Projektor und Kameras extern zu koppeln. Im Ergebnis sind DLS Module leicht zu integrieren und arbeiten zuverlässig bei maximalen Datenraten. Der Nutzer definiert die gewünschte Musterfolge für die Projektion und erhält direkt die zugehörigen Bildfolgen. Zwei Konfigurationen stehen zur Verfügung.
DLP Design House Logo
DLS-1
DLS-2
DLS-1 Modul
DLS-2 Modul
1 x Musterprojektor
1 x Bildsensor
1 x Musterprojektor
2 x Bildsensor
System-Architektur
Direct Link Sensor Architecture
Das Bild zeigt Aufbau und Datenfluss der DLSModule schematisch. Die von ViALUX entwickelte FPGA Logik steuert sowohl den HochleistungsDLP Chip für die schnelle und präzise Projektion von Mustern als auch die Bildsensoren für die digitale Bildaufnahme. Damit sind Mustergenerierung und Aufzeichnung exakt synchronisiert auch für das Auslesen von Teilbildern (ROI). Die Bildfrequenzen reichen von 166 Hz bis 5000 Hz (ROI) parallel für jede Kamera.
Für die einmalige oder  wiederholte Projektion werden die flexibel programmierbaren Mustersequenzen in den internen Speicher des DLS  (RAM) geladen. Die von den Bildsensoren aufgenommen Objektbilder werden ebenfalls im on-board RAM zwischengespeichert. Dieser interne Speicher fasst bis zu 1592 Bilder (10 bit, 1920 x 1200 Pixel), die per USB vom PC abrufbar sind. Sämtliche internen Datenoperationen werden über einen FPGA ausgeführt und sind somit mit Echtzeitpräzision vorhanden. Die DLSModule realisieren eine USB 3.2 SuperSpeed Protokoll für die Kommunikation mit dem PC. Verlustfreie ontheflight Kompression für das Laden der Projektionsmuster und Pixel Binning für die Kamerabilder beschleunigen den Datentransfer zusätzlich.
System-Steuerung
Die leicht zu integrierende Programmbibliothek (API) ermöglicht eine effiziente Anwendungsentwicklung. Die Funktionen der DLS‑API sind übersichtlich strukturiert, gleichzeitig bieten sie umfassende Einstellmöglichkeiten. Der Anwender kann die Mustersequenz frei definieren im Hinblick auf Bittiefe, Sequenzlänge und Bildfrequenz. Die DLS API ist eine dynamische Programmbibliothek (DLL) und kann in verschiedenen Programmierumgebungen benutzt werden.
Kundennutzen
Das neue Direct Link Sensor Prinzip bietet signifikante Vorteile für die nächste Generation industrieller Bildverarbeitungsanwendungen:
• Projektions- und Bildaufnahmechip sind exakt synchronisiert
• Datenübertragungen mit hoher Bandbreite erfolgten DLS-intern unabhängig von der PC Schnittstelle
• Die Hardwarelösung garantiert einen Echtzeitbetrieb
• DLS-Module benötigen nur eine USB 3.2 Schnittstelle
• Die API Software ermöglicht eine schnelle Softwareintegration
Modelle
Die DLS1 und DLS2 Module sind für unterschiedliche Bildfelder und Arbeitsabstände (WD) konfiguriert. Die Größe des diagonalen Bildfeldes (DFOV) ergibt sich aus DFOV = 0.69 x WD.
DLS1 ist mit einer DLP Projektionseinheit und einem Bildsensor ausgestattet, wobei durch leichtes Verkippen des Bildsensors der Arbeitsabstand im Bereich von 1.300 - 3.000 mm einstellbar ist. Der Abstand zwischen Projektions- und Kameraoptik beträgt 410 mm.
DLS2 verfügt über zwei Bildsensoren und einen DLP Chip. Alle drei Chips befinden sich in fester Position zueinander, zwei Konfigurationen für 600 mm bzw. 1.000 mm Arbeitsabstand erhältlich sind. Der Basisabstand der beiden Kameraobjektive beträgt 160 mm.
Die DLSModule nutzen als Lichtquelle HochleistungsLEDs. Zur Unterstützung einer Vielzahl von Anwendungen stehen für den sichtbaren und NIR Bereich folgende LEDs zur Auswahl: Weiß, Blau 460 nm, NIR 730 nm, NIR 850 nm.
Zusätzliche Softwareoptionen
Optional steht für DLS ein weiteres Softwarepaket zSnapper® SDK (zSn.dll) zur Auswahl, welches die schnelle und hochgenaue 3D Koordinatenmessungen realisiert. Diese hochentwickelte 3D Mess-Software wird in den 3D Scan-Systeme der ViALUX serienmäßig eingesetzt und ist jetzt auch für ViALUX Module verfügbar. Der Anwender erhält automatisch die gemessenen (x, y, z) Koordinaten zur Weiterverarbeitung in der 3D Vision Applikation.
Contact >> DLP at ViALUX
Zurück zum Seiteninhalt